Faculty chosen for 2021-22 President and Provost's Leadership Institute

Congratulations to the seventeen Ohio State University faculty who have been chosen for the 2021-22 cohort of the President and Provost's Leadership Institute.
Seven women faculty standing a line facing camera in casual clothing
Members of the 2021-22 PPLI cohort find a solution to a team building exercise at Camp Mary Orton.

Seventeen Ohio State University faculty have been chosen for the 2021-22 cohort of the President and Provost's Leadership Institute (PPLI), which focuses on long-term faculty leadership development.

The goal of PPLI is to help faculty develop their self-awareness, skills, and ambition to become highly effective leaders in the academy who can create a culture that is supportive of all faculty members. The 16-month program seeks to create a pool of potential leaders from groups that traditionally have been underrepresented in key leadership roles, and in particular, in the role of department chairs and school directors.

As part of its mission to create a climate conducive to women’s opportunities for achievement, The Women’s Place (TWP), under the auspices of the Office of Academic Affairs and in collaboration with the Office of Human Resources, began offering this faculty leadership training program in 2005. Now TWP is the sole facilitator of the institute.

Many alumni of the program have advanced into leadership roles as department chairs, center and school directors, deans and associate deans, and vice provosts. While the program’s content often highlights the challenges and opportunities for leadership for women and faculty of color, it is open to faculty participants of any identity.

Learn more about the rising stars who make up the 2021-22 cohort of the President and Provost's Leadership Institute below.


2021-22 President and Provost's Leadership Institute Cohort



Title and Department/Unit

Joni Acuff Associate Professor, Arts & Sciences – Art Administration Education and Policy
Jonathan Baker Associate Director, Academic Affairs – Drake Teaching and Learning Institute; Arts & Sciences – Statistics
Karen Beard Associate Professor and Chair, Education and Human Ecology – Educational Studies
Erica Bell Clinical Associate Professor, College of Medicine – Neurology
Amy Brunell Professor, Arts & Sciences – Psychology (Mansfield)
Cynthia Colen Associate Professor, Arts & Sciences - Sociology
Kymberly Gowdy Associate Professor, College of Medicine – IM Pulmonary Critical Care and Sleep
Susan Gershman Associate Professor, Arts & Sciences – Evolution, Ecology and Organismal Biology (Marion)
Scott Graves Associate Professor, Education and Human Ecology – Educational Studies 
Eloise Kaizar Professor, Arts & Sciences – Statistics
Susan Lang Professor, CSTW Director, Arts & Sciences – English
Julie Martin Associate Professor, Engineering – Engineering Education
Randee Masciola Associate Professor – Clinical, Nursing
Heather Powell Associate Professor, Engineering – Materials Science and Engineering
Zarine Shah Associate Professor – Clinical, College of Medicine – Radiology
Carmen Taleghani-Nikazm Professor, Arts & Sciences – Germanic Languages and Literatures
Shu-Hua Wang Professor – Clinical, College of Medicine – Infectious Diseases